Things to Know Before Buying Lighting Kits

Studio lighting was not my enthusiasm till just recently. As a matter of fact I’m not professional digital photographer at all as well as I have totally various job. When my first child was born I made a decision to spend some cash as well as buy a great SLR video camera and I acquired a Nikon D80. Nevertheless, quickly I realized that the camera does not magically make extremely quality images and I really did not truly like all my images as well as particularly the ones taken at home. This was because of the bad lighting certainly.

studio lighting kits

Source: https://www.backdropsource.com/

After long excavating in internet I made a decision to invest a little money into a studio lighting set. I have to admit that this is just one of my best purchases I have ever before made. What I actually like is that with my studio set I have control over the environment and also I attain suitable results. At first I didn’t adhere to any type of guidelines as well as simply pointed my strobes at my topic without thinking excessive. Nevertheless, I have to confess that these are the photos I like one of the most (might be since they were my first ones with studio strobes).

Later I began to learn more and also even more as well as I attempted some various studio lighting techniques like Rembrandt Lighting, Butterfly Lighting as well as Hatchet Lighting. These are really straightforward portrait photography techniques but you obtain really good pictures. Naturally sometimes you need greater than merely one strobe. In most instances, in addition to your primary light, you will certainly need light for the background and another one for “hair” light (to accomplish this nice splitting up from the background). This is where you realize that a green screen photography set is an excellent investment – sometimes buying all parts separately can triple the price than getting them as a set! Nearly all kits have 2 or 3 flash strobes and also means them, softboxes, umbrellas as well as barn door with honeycomb grids and shade gels. Also though it’s not compulsory, many studio kits come with cordless trigger (transmitter as well as receiver), and sync cable. Some kits may include backgrounds as well as represents them. Likewise, all lighting kits come with an excellent bag which makes them far more mobile.

About Lighting Kits

From all parts the most important ones are certainly the flash strobes. A great strobe is not necessarily with much power – I ‘d say that for home studio you just need 250 w/s. Nevertheless, the power defines the reusing time (the moment needed for the strobe to charge). At max power it takes even more time. My strobes are 300 w/s and their recycling time at complete power has to do with 2.5 – 3 seconds. This is good sufficient for residence studio I assume, despite the fact that occasionally I miss out on “the shot”.

Leave a comment